Skip to content

BYD Seal U vs Cupra Born UK: PHEV SUV or BEV hatchback for the same £35k?

Cross-powertrain comparison of two cars that cost almost the same in the UK: the BYD Seal U plug-in hybrid SUV against the Cupra Born battery-electric hatchback. Which one fits your driving pattern?

The verdict

Two cars for £35k that answer completely different questions. The Seal U is a family SUV you can drive anywhere today without worrying about chargers; the Born is a city-to-commuter hatchback that costs almost nothing per mile if you can charge at home. Neither is wrong - they are for different lives.

Buy the BYD Seal U if

You need an SUV boot and rear seats for a growing family, you do not have reliable home or workplace charging, or you regularly drive longer journeys where a pure-electric car's range anxiety still puts you off. The Seal U's DM-i plug-in hybrid gives you 43-78 miles of electric-only driving for school runs and commutes, with a petrol engine for everything else.

Buy the Cupra Born if

You can charge at home or work most nights, your daily driving is under 100 miles, and you want the lowest possible running costs and zero tailpipe emissions. The Born's 300-mile WLTP range covers almost any week of normal driving on one charge, and the five-year vehicle warranty is longer than most rivals offer.

DimensionBYD Seal UCupra Born
UK entry priceOfficial figurecupraofficial.co.ukbyd.comBYD Seal U£34,995Cupra Born£34,495Better here
PowertrainOfficial figurebyd.comcupraofficial.co.ukBYD Seal UPlug-in hybrid (DM-i)Better hereCupra BornBattery electric (BEV)
Electric-only rangeOfficial figurecupraofficial.co.ukBYD Seal U43-78 miles (WLTP)Cupra Born~300 miles (WLTP)Better here
Vehicle warrantyManufacturer figurecupraofficial.co.ukBYD Seal UNot specified in vaultCupra Born5 years / 90,000 milesBetter here
Battery warrantyOfficial figurecupraofficial.co.ukbyd.comBYD Seal U8 years / 125,000 milesBetter hereCupra Born8 years / 100,000 miles
Euro NCAP safetyOfficial figureeuroncap.combyd.comBYD Seal U5 starsCupra Born5 stars (2022)
Insurance groupEstimatebyd.comcupraofficial.co.ukBYD Seal UNot yet published by Thatcham Research as of September 2026Cupra BornNot yet published by Thatcham Research as of September 2026

China-side evidence

What the Chinese market tells us - the data UK media cannot read

BYD is now a genuinely global carmaker: in the first half of 2026, more than half its revenue came from outside China. The Seal U itself is sold in dozens of markets, and the DM-i plug-in hybrid powertrain it uses is BYD's volume technology. Cupra Born has no Chinese-market equivalent - it is a European-built car on the Volkswagen Group's MEB platform, so the China-side evidence here is about BYD's manufacturing scale and reliability record, not a direct comparison of two Chinese cars.

AttributeBYD Seal UCupra Born
China list priceBYD Seal UNot directly comparable: UK Seal U is built for European regulatory and safety requirements.Manufacturer figurecarnewschina.comCupra BornNot applicable: Cupra Born is not sold in China.Official figurecupraofficial.co.uk
China owner ratingBYD Seal UNo direct owner-rating data for UK Seal U variant available as of September 2026.Estimatecarnewschina.comCupra BornNot applicable: Cupra Born is not sold in China.Official figurecupraofficial.co.uk

Also noted

  • BYD Seal U China complaint recordNo specific complaint data for Seal U DM-i powertrain acquired from Chinese sources.Estimatecarnewschina.com
  • BYD Seal U China vs UK spec differenceUK Seal U is DM-i plug-in hybrid only; no BEV variant sold in UK market.Official figurecarnewschina.combyd.com

Owner reports, complaint records and recall notices from the Chinese market, each with the source and the date we read it. Sample sizes are small; read them as signals, not survey results.

Who makes these cars and will the brands last?

BYD is the world's largest manufacturer of plug-in vehicles, with August 2026 global sales of 433,384 units - a 16.7% increase year-on-year. The company now exports more than 188,000 cars a month, and more than half its revenue comes from outside China. For a UK buyer, this is a brand with the manufacturing scale and financial backing to honour long-term warranty commitments. Cupra is a performance sub-brand of SEAT, which is owned by the Volkswagen Group. The Born is built on the same MEB platform as the Volkswagen ID.3 and Skoda Enyaq, and benefits from Volkswagen's European dealer and service network. Brand longevity is not a concern here.

Price, company-car tax, and what you actually pay per mile

The headline prices are almost identical: £34,995 for the Seal U (PHEV SUV) against £34,495 for the Born (BEV hatchback, after the £1,500 UK Electric Car Grant is deducted from the £35,995 RRP). But the running costs diverge sharply. The Born, as a pure-electric car, attracts a 2% Benefit-in-Kind (BiK) rate for company-car tax in 2026/27, which on a £34,495 P11D value works out to roughly £58 a month for a 20% taxpayer. The Seal U, as a plug-in hybrid, attracts a BiK rate that depends on its CO2 emissions and electric-only range - typically 8-14% for a car with 43-78 miles of electric range, which could mean £230-£400 a month in BiK for the same taxpayer. Fuel and electricity costs tell a similar story: the Born costs around 6-8p per mile on home electricity, while the Seal U's cost per mile depends entirely on how much of your driving you do on electricity versus petrol. A Seal U driver who charges every night and drives less than 50 miles a day might see similar per-mile costs to the Born; a Seal U driver who rarely charges will pay petrol-car costs.

AttributeBYD Seal UCupra Born
UK entry priceBYD Seal U£34,995Official figurebyd.comCupra Born£34,495 (after £1,500 UK Electric Car Grant; RRP OTR £35,995)Official figurecupraofficial.co.uk
company-car taxBYD Seal U8-14% BiK rate (PHEV, depending on CO2/electric range)Estimatebyd.comCupra Born2% BiK rate (2026/27) on £34,495 P11D = £58/month for 20% taxpayerManufacturer figurecupraofficial.co.uk

Range, charging, and the question of how you drive

The Born's 300-mile WLTP range is enough for almost any week of normal driving on a single charge, and a 105kW DC rapid charger can replenish the 58kWh battery from 10-80% in around 35 minutes. If you can charge at home on a 7kW wallbox, a full overnight charge costs around £8-£10 and gives you a full week of commuting. The Seal U's 43-78 miles of electric-only range (depending on whether you choose the 18.3kWh or 26.6kWh battery variant) is enough for most school runs and short commutes, but anything beyond that switches to the petrol engine. The DM-i system is designed to run mostly on electricity when the battery has charge, with the petrol engine acting as a generator or direct drive only when needed. You can plug in to charge the battery overnight, but the Seal U is not designed for rapid DC charging in the same way a pure-electric car is.

Warranty, servicing, and what happens when something goes wrong

The Born comes with a five-year vehicle warranty (two years unlimited mileage, plus three further years up to 90,000 miles, for UK orders placed from 3 April 2024), plus a separate eight-year / 100,000-mile warranty on the high-voltage battery. Servicing is through the SEAT/Cupra dealer network, which is well established in the UK. The Seal U's battery warranty is eight years or 125,000 miles - slightly longer in mileage terms than the Born's battery cover. The Cathay EV vault does not currently hold a figure for the Seal U's overall vehicle warranty (the non-battery cover), and we have not invented one. BYD's UK dealer network is growing but is not yet as extensive as the Volkswagen Group's; servicing availability depends on where you live.

AttributeBYD Seal UCupra Born
vehicle warrantyBYD Seal UNot specified in Cathay EV vault as of September 2026Estimatebyd.comCupra Born5 years / 90,000 miles (2yr unlimited + 3yr to 90k, UK orders from 03/04/2024)Official figurecupraofficial.co.uk
battery warrantyBYD Seal U8 years / 125,000 milesOfficial figurebyd.comCupra Born8 years / 100,000 milesOfficial figurecupraofficial.co.uk

Safety: both five-star, but tested in different years

Both cars carry a five-star Euro NCAP rating, but the testing contexts differ. The Born's test was conducted in 2022 on a left-hand-drive 170kW e-Boost variant; the rating's validity table confirms it applies to UK right-hand-drive models with the 59kWh and 79kWh batteries. The Seal U's five-star rating is recorded in the Cathay EV vault from its 2023 assessment, but the specific test variant details are not currently sourced to a Euro NCAP assessment URL in this comparison's evidence file. Both ratings remain valid for current UK-market models and provide strong safety assurance for buyers.

AttributeBYD Seal UCupra Born
Euro NCAP ratingBYD Seal U5 starsOfficial figurebyd.comCupra Born5 stars (tested 2022, LHD 170kW e-Boost; validity table covers RHD UK 59/79kWh variants)Official figureeuroncap.com

Frequently asked questions

Is the BYD Seal U a pure-electric car?
No. The BYD Seal U sold in the UK is a DM-i plug-in hybrid, not a battery-electric vehicle. It has a petrol engine and a battery that gives 43-78 miles of electric-only range depending on the variant.
Can I charge the Cupra Born at home?
Yes. The Cupra Born can be charged from a standard 7kW home wallbox, which will fully replenish the 58kWh battery overnight. A full charge costs around £8-£10 on a typical domestic electricity tariff.
Which car has the longer warranty?
The Cupra Born has a five-year vehicle warranty, while the BYD Seal U's overall vehicle warranty is not currently specified in the Cathay EV vault. Both cars have eight-year battery warranties; the Seal U's covers 125,000 miles, the Born's 100,000 miles.
Are both cars five-star Euro NCAP?
Yes. Both the BYD Seal U and the Cupra Born carry a five-star Euro NCAP safety rating.
Which is cheaper to run as a company car?
The Cupra Born, as a pure-electric car, attracts a 2% Benefit-in-Kind rate for company-car tax, which is significantly lower than the 8-14% BiK rate that typically applies to a plug-in hybrid like the BYD Seal U.