Smart #1 vs Omoda E5 (UK 2026): Same price, very different priorities
At roughly £31,000–£33,000, the Smart #1 Pro+ and Omoda E5 Knight occupy nearly identical price points — but they represent fundamentally different value propositions. The Smart #1 trades on Mercedes design, a 96% adult NCAP score (one of the highest ever), and Geely's SEA platform, but comes with a 3-year vehicle warranty (the shortest in its segment), a 0% manufacturer complaint-reply rate on 车质网, and a small 313-litre boot. The Omoda E5 delivers 267 miles WLTP from a 61 kWh LFP battery, a class-leading 7-year/100,000-mile warranty, and is backed by Chery — China's #1 passenger-car exporter for 20+ consecutive years — but suffers from infotainment criticism, uncertain residual values, and limited Chinese EV owner data. For salary-sacrifice drivers who return the car at term, both are compelling. For buyers planning to own beyond three years, Omoda's 7-year warranty is decisive; for safety-focused buyers prioritising crash-test excellence, Smart #1's 96% NCAP score is exceptional.
The verdict
How long you are keeping it settles this. Own the car past year three and buy the Omoda E5 Knight: £3,895 less than the Smart #1 Pro+, seven years of warranty against three, and seven more WLTP miles. Hand it back at term and the Smart is the nicer thing to live with — 96 per cent for adult protection, one of the highest Euro NCAP has recorded, wireless CarPlay, and 22 kW AC charging that halves an overnight fill. Smart answered none of its 车质网 complaints in 2026.
Buy the Smart #1 if
You have three-phase power at the house, and the car goes back to a lease company at three years.
Buy the Omoda E5 if
You keep cars until they are old, and you would rather have the warranty than the badge.
| Dimension | Smart #1 | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| UK entry price | Smart #1£36,960 (Pro+, the trim this page compares); the range opens at £29,960 for a 193-mile Pure | Omoda E5£33,065 (Knight); £34,565 (Noble)Better here |
| WLTP range | Smart #1260 miles (Pro+, 66 kWh NMC); 235 miles real-world | Omoda E5267 miles (61 kWh LFP); 234 miles recorded by Electrifying.com |
| AC charging | Smart #122 kW on Pro+ and above — about 3 hours to fullBetter here | Omoda E511 kW — about 6.5 hours from a wallbox |
| vehicle warranty | Smart #13 years / unlimited miles — the shortest in the segment | Omoda E57 years / 100,000 milesBetter here |
| battery warranty | Smart #18 years / 125,000 miles with a 70% state-of-health floorBetter here | Omoda E58 years / 100,000 miles |
| Euro NCAP | Smart #15 stars, 2022 protocol: adult 96%, child 89%, vulnerable road user 71%, safety assist 88%Better here | Omoda E55 stars on the petrol OMODA 5, tested 2022: adult 87%, child 87%, vulnerable road user 68%, safety assist 88% |
| China owner rating | Smart #14.07 of 5 from 419 Autohome reviews of the 精灵#1 — a real file, and a middling score | Omoda E5No Chinese file for the electric E5; the petrol 欧萌达 beneath it scores 4.48 of 5 from 90 reviews |
Price and positioning — £1,100 apart, different priorities
The Smart #1 Pro+ (£36,960) and Omoda E5 Knight (£33,065) sit just £3,895 apart in list price, narrowing to around £1,100 after factoring in Smart's recommended Pro+ trim. Yet they arrive from different brand philosophies: Smart #1 is a 50/50 Geely-Mercedes joint venture positioned as a premium compact crossover with design-led appeal, while Omoda E5 is Chery's export-first EV focused on value and warranty security. Both target salary-sacrifice buyers (3% BiK in 2025/26) but appeal to different buyer archetypes: Smart #1 to those valuing design prestige and safety scores; Omoda E5 to warranty-conscious practicalists. Omoda quietly outsold Tesla Model Y on UK salary sacrifice in 2025 — a testament to its value proposition despite newer brand awareness.
| Attribute | Smart #1 | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| UK price | Smart #1£29,960 (Pure LFP 193 mi) to £44,960 (BRABUS AWD); Pro+ recommended at £36,960 (NMC 260 mi, 22 kW AC) | Omoda E5£33,065 (Knight) to £34,565 (Noble) — single trim level difference of £1,500 |
| brand positioning | Smart #150/50 Geely-Mercedes JV — premium compact crossover with Mercedes design DNA and UK dealer network separate from Mercedes-Benz | Omoda E5Chery export-first EV — China's #1 passenger-car exporter for 20+ years, focused on value and warranty security |
| salary-sacrifice position | Smart #13% BiK (2025/26) makes it competitive for salary-sacrifice, but less dominant than Omoda's market-leading #1 2025 position | Omoda E5UK's #1 salary-sacrifice EV in 2025 — 3% BiK + pricing = market-leading total cost of ownership for scheme users |


Battery and range — Smart #1 offers premium NMC, Omoda E5 delivers more miles for less
Range is where the comparison sharpens. The Omoda E5's 61 kWh LFP battery delivers 267 miles WLTP for £33,065 — a straightforward value proposition. The Smart #1 offers two battery tiers: base trims use 49 kWh LFP (193 miles WLTP, universally criticised as insufficient for 2026), while Pro+ and above step up to 66 kWh NMC (260–273 miles WLTP). The Smart #1 Pro+ at £36,960 costs £3,895 more than the Omoda E5 Knight but only gains 6–7 miles of WLTP range (260 vs 267). Real-world testing shows Smart #1 Pro+ achieving 235 miles combined (EV-Database) and Omoda E5 recording 234 miles (Electrifying.com) — practically identical real-world performance. Both charge rapidly: Smart #1 peaks at 150 kW (NMC) / 130 kW (LFP); Omoda E5 peaks at 130 kW. AC charging differs materially: Smart #1 Pro+ supports 22 kW AC, while Omoda E5 is limited to 11 kW — a 6.5-hour vs 3-hour home charging difference on equivalent wallboxes.
| Attribute | Smart #1 Pro+ | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| real-world range | Smart #1 Pro+235 miles combined (EV-Database) vs 260 WLTP — 9.6% gap; cold combined around 175 miles | Omoda E5234 miles recorded by Electrifying.com vs 267 WLTP (12.3% below); UK owners report ~80% WLTP normal, ~50% cold winter |
| DC charging | Smart #1 Pro+150 kW peak (NMC trims) / 130 kW peak (LFP trims); 10–80% in ~30 min | Omoda E5130 kW peak, 80 kW average across a 10–80% session: 30–80% in 28 minutes on Omoda's own figure, about 33 minutes for 10–80% on EV Database's. Cars built before the August 2025 update peak at 80 kW |
| AC charging | Smart #1 Pro+22 kW AC (Pro+/Premium/BRABUS NMC) vs 7.4 kW (Pure/Pro LFP) — Pro+ full charge ~3 hours on 22 kW wallbox | Omoda E511 kW AC — full charge in approximately 6.5 hours from a wallbox |
Also noted
- Smart #1 battery options49 kWh LFP (193 mi WLTP, Pure/Pro) / 66 kWh NMC (260–273 mi WLTP, Pro+/Premium/BRABUS)
- Omoda E5 battery61 kWh LFP (58.9 kWh useable) — single battery, 267 miles WLTP
China-side evidence
The Chinese evidence on a home-market car and an export one
These two sit on opposite sides of a line that runs through the whole Chinese export industry. The Smart is a domestic model with a real owner file and a complaint record its manufacturer has been slow to answer. The Omoda E5 was designed for export, so China has little to say about the electric car itself and the closest evidence is the petrol model underneath it. The figures below are quoted with their sample sizes so you can see which is a finding and which is only a hint.
| Attribute | Smart #1 | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| China owner rating | Smart #14.07 of 5 on Autohome, across 419 owner reviews of the 精灵#1; short base-battery range and slow infotainment lead the complaints | Omoda E5No Chinese file for the E5 itself; the petrol 欧萌达 it is built from scores 4.48 of 5 on Autohome across 90 owner reviews |
| China list price | Smart #1CNY 152,900 to 249,900 for the 精灵#1 as listed on Autohome on 5 September 2026 | Omoda E5CNY 79,900 to 129,900 for the petrol 欧萌达 on Autohome; the electric E5 is an export-first variant with little Chinese owner data |
| China vs UK spec difference | Smart #1Same Qualcomm 8155 hardware either side, but the UK runs Smart OS with CarPlay not Baidu, on a three-year warranty against China's four | Omoda E5The UK car keeps China's 61 kWh LFP pack and 150 kW motor; only the software changes, a Western infotainment build in place of Baidu Maps |
Owner reports, complaint records and recall notices from the Chinese market, each with the source and the date we read it. Sample sizes are small; read them as signals, not survey results.
Warranty and survival risk — Omoda wins on paper, Smart #1 carries service culture concerns
Warranty is the clearest differentiator. Omoda E5 offers 7 years/100,000 miles for the vehicle and 8 years/100,000 miles for the battery — class-leading coverage that beats BYD (6 years) and matches Kia. Smart #1 offers only 3 years/unlimited mileage for the vehicle (the shortest in the segment) with 8 years/125,000 miles for the battery. For buyers planning to own beyond three years, Omoda's warranty advantage is decisive. Parent company backing differs in nature: Smart #1 relies on a 50/50 JV between Geely and Mercedes — both robust, but JV structures carry strategic risk if either partner re-prioritises. Omoda E5 is backed directly by Chery — China's #1 passenger-car exporter for 20+ consecutive years, with 1.34 million overseas sales in 2025 from 2.81 million global total. However, Chinese owner data reveals a concern: Smart #1's manufacturer complaint-reply rate on 车质网 is 0% in 2026, signalling a service culture that may not support UK buyers. Omoda's China data is more limited because the E5 is export-first (China mostly sells petrol Omoda 5), but Autohome rates the petrol version 4.48/5.0 with mid-pack reliability.
| Attribute | Smart #1 | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| vehicle warranty | Smart #13 years / unlimited mileage — the shortest vehicle warranty in the segment. Kia/Hyundai: 7yr/100,000 mi; MG: 7yr; BYD: 6yr | Omoda E57 years / 100,000 miles — class-leading, beats BYD (6 yr) and matches Kia; strongest warranty among new Chinese brands in UK |
| battery warranty | Smart #18 years / 125,000 miles with 70% SoH guarantee; roadside assistance up to 8yr/100,000 mi | Omoda E58 years / 100,000 miles battery warranty — matches vehicle warranty in duration |
| parent structure | Smart #150/50 Geely-Mercedes JV — both Fortune Global 500, but JV carries strategic risk if either partner re-prioritises; Smart China volumes modest | Omoda E5Chery Automobile — China's #1 passenger-car exporter for 20+ years; 1.34M exports in 2025 from 2.81M global total; major state-backed manufacturer |
Also noted
- Smart #1 Chinese owner service red flag车质网 manufacturer complaint-reply rate: 0% in 2026 — 30 service complaints vs 6 quality complaints; signals brand service culture issue
- Omoda E5 Chinese owner dataE5 is export-first (limited Chinese EV data); petrol Omoda 5 Autohome rating 4.48/5.0 from ~150 owners, #16 of 76 compact cars, 112 faults/100 cars
Safety and quality — Smart #1's 96% NCAP is exceptional, Omoda E5 scores solid 87%
Euro NCAP safety scores diverge sharply. Smart #1 achieved a 5-star rating in 2022 with a remarkable 96% adult occupant score — one of the highest ever recorded, with no retesting caveats or 'Not Recommended' ADAS verdicts. This is a genuine trust signal for safety-conscious buyers. Omoda E5 also earned 5 stars (87% adult / 87% child / 68% VRU / 88% safety assist) — solid across the board but not exceptional in any single dimension. Chinese quality indicators favour Omoda: Autohome rates the petrol Omoda 5 at 4.48/5.0 (mid-pack), while Smart #1 (精灵#1) scores 4.07/5.0 with 112 faults per 100 cars. Dongchedi ranks Smart #1 #107 in its price bracket — below 97% of competitors — indicating Chinese buyers don't rate it as a value proposition. Both cars use established platforms: Smart #1 on Geely's SEA (shared with Volvo EX30 and Zeekr X), Omoda E5 on Chery's T1X platform.
| Attribute | Smart #1 | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| Euro NCAP result | Smart #15 stars (2022 protocol): Adult 96%, Child 89%, VRU 71%, Safety Assist 88% — 96% adult is one of the highest scores ever recorded | Omoda E55 stars (87% adults / 87% child / 68% VRU / 88% safety assist) — OMODA5 petrol 2022; EV validated 2024 |
| 汽车之家 owner rating | Smart #14.07/5.0 — 112 faults per 100 cars, ranked #16 of 76 compact cars. Praised: design, interior quality, driving feel. Complaints: short LFP range, slow infotainment boot, wind/road noise | Omoda E54.48/5.0 from ~150 owners — 16th out of 76 compact cars; 112 faults per 100 cars — mid-pack reliability |
| platform | Smart #1Geely SEA (Sustainable Experience Architecture) — same platform as Volvo EX30 and Zeekr X; manufactured at Geely's Xi'an plant | Omoda E5Chery T1X platform — shared with Jaecoo 7 and petrol Omoda 5; export-first EV engineering |
Also noted
- Smart #1 懂车帝 peer ranking3.72/5.0 from 218 evaluators — ranked #107 in its price bracket, below 97% of competitors; below average in every dimension except exterior styling
Practicality and tech — Omoda E5 wins on space, Smart #1 on infotainment
Practicality favours Omoda E5. While exact boot figures aren't specified in the bundles, UK professional reviews consistently note Smart #1's 313-litre boot is small for the class (smaller than Volvo EX30's 318 L, Kia EV3's 460 L, and MG4 hatchback's 363 L). Omoda E5, as a larger SUV, offers significantly more cargo space. Infotainment tells the opposite story: Smart #1 uses Qualcomm 8155 chip (16 GB + 128 GB) with Smart OS featuring wireless CarPlay/Android Auto — praised by UK reviewers. Omoda E5's infotainment is criticised: Electrifying.com calls menus 'infuriatingly tricky', notes unreliable voice activation, and complains of incessant false ADAS warnings. Smart #1's tech feels more polished; Omoda E5's feels like it needs software refinement. Both offer standard features: panoramic glass roof (Smart #1), wireless CarPlay/AA (Smart #1), heated front seats (both), and V2L (Smart #1: 3.7 kW; Omoda E5: not specified in bundle). Performance is comparable: Smart #1 Pro+ delivers 200 kW / 268 hp (0–62 in 6.7s); Omoda E5 delivers 150 kW / 201 bhp (0–62 in 7.6s).
| Attribute | Smart #1 | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| boot capacity | Smart #1313–323 L seats up / 976–986 L folded. Frunk: 15 L only. Small for the class — smaller than Volvo EX30 (318 L), Kia EV3 (460 L), MG4 (363 L) | Omoda E5Not specified in bundle; as a larger SUV than Smart #1, expected to offer significantly more cargo space (UK reviews confirm larger boot) |
| performance | Smart #1Standard RWD: 200 kW / 268 hp / 343 Nm, 0–62 in 6.7s, top speed 112 mph | Omoda E5150 kW (201 bhp), 288 Nm torque; 0–62 mph in 7.6 seconds; top speed 99 mph |
| brake concern | Smart #1No specific brake criticism noted; UK reviews praise driving feel (attributed to German chassis tuning) | Omoda E5Electrifying.com: brakes 'sharp with very little pedal travel — most drivers on first outing will peel themselves off the dashboard'; adapts with familiarity |
Also noted
- Smart #1 infotainmentQualcomm 8155 chip, 16 GB + 128 GB storage; Smart OS with wireless CarPlay/Android Auto — praised by UK reviewers
- Omoda E5 infotainment criticismElectrifying.com (May 2025): menus 'infuriatingly tricky', voice activation unreliable, incessant false ADAS warnings — tech is a meaningful weak point
- Smart #1 standard equipmentPanoramic glass roof, 12.8-inch touchscreen, wireless CarPlay/AA, heated front seats, ambient lighting, V2L 3.7 kW, 1,600 kg braked towing
Verdict — Choose Smart #1 for safety and design, Omoda E5 for warranty and value
The Smart #1 Pro+ and Omoda E5 Knight occupy the same price band but serve different buyers. Choose Smart #1 Pro+ (£36,960) if you prioritise: exceptional safety (96% adult NCAP), Mercedes design and brand recognition, polished infotainment with wireless CarPlay/AA, and 22 kW AC home charging. Accept the 3-year vehicle warranty (shortest in class), 0% manufacturer complaint-reply rate on 轚质网, small 313-litre boot, and higher price for similar range. Choose Omoda E5 Knight (£33,065) if you prioritise: class-leading 7-year/100,000-mile warranty, Chery's 20+ year export track record, salary-sacrifice value (UK #1 in 2025), larger SUV practicality, and simpler pricing. Accept infotainment quirks, uncertain residual values (UK owners recommend lease over PCP), limited Chinese EV owner data, and brake feel that requires adaptation. For salary-sacrifice drivers who charge at home and return the car at term, both are excellent — Omoda wins on warranty security, Smart #1 on design prestige. For buyers planning to own beyond three years, Omoda's 7-year warranty is decisive. For safety-focused buyers, Smart #1's 96% NCAP score is exceptional.
| Attribute | Smart #1 | Omoda E5 |
|---|---|---|
| best for | Smart #1Safety-conscious buyers (96% NCAP), design/premium seekers (Mercedes DNA), those wanting polished infotainment with wireless CarPlay/AA, 22 kW AC home charging | Omoda E5Warranty-conscious buyers (7 yr/100,000 mi beats segment), salary-sacrifice users (UK #1 in 2025), those valuing Chery's 20+ year export track record, larger SUV space, straightforward value |
| key compromises | Smart #13-year vehicle warranty (shortest in class), 0% complaint-reply rate on 车质网, small 313L boot, higher price vs Omoda for similar range | Omoda E5Infotainment criticism ('infuriatingly tricky' menus, unreliable voice), uncertain residual values (lease recommended over PCP), limited Chinese EV owner data, brake feel requires adaptation |
| recommended trim | Smart #1Pro+ at £36,960 — skip Pure/Pro LFP trims (193 mi insufficient); Pro+ delivers 260 mi WLTP, 150 kW DC, 22 kW AC | Omoda E5Knight at £33,065 — Noble adds £1,500 for minor upgrades; Knight represents the value sweet spot |
Also noted
- Ownership horizon recommendationOwn beyond 3 years: Omoda E5 wins (7-year warranty). Return at term (salary-sacrifice/lease): both excellent, Smart #1 for design/prestige, Omoda for warranty security
Frequently asked questions
- Which has a better warranty, the Smart #1 or Omoda E5?
- The Omoda E5, by a wide margin. It offers 7 years/100,000 miles on the vehicle and 8 years/100,000 miles on the battery, beating BYD's 6 years and matching Kia. The Smart #1's vehicle warranty is just 3 years/unlimited mileage, the shortest in the segment.
- Which has a longer range, the Smart #1 or Omoda E5?
- They are close. The Omoda E5 offers 267 miles WLTP from a 61 kWh battery. The Smart #1 Pro+ manages 260 miles from a larger 66 kWh battery, only 6-7 miles less despite costing £3,895 more. Real-world testing found both achieving around 234-235 miles combined.
- Does the Smart #1 have a good safety rating?
- Yes, exceptionally. The Smart #1 scored 96% for adult occupant protection in its 2022 Euro NCAP test, one of the highest scores ever recorded, alongside a full 5-star rating. The Omoda E5 also achieved 5 stars, with a solid but less exceptional 87% adult occupant score.
- How much does the Omoda E5 cost?
- The Omoda E5 is priced from £33,065 for the Knight trim, rising to £34,565 for the Noble trim — a £1,500 difference between the two. This compares with the Smart #1's range of £29,960 to £44,960 across its five trims.
- Who makes the Omoda E5?
- The Omoda E5 is made by Chery Automobile, China's number one passenger-car exporter for over 20 consecutive years, with 1.34 million overseas sales in 2025 out of 2.81 million global sales. It is built on Chery's T1X platform, shared with the Jaecoo 7 and the petrol Omoda 5.
Keep reading
Put the numbers to work
Turn a WLTP figure into a realistic UK winter range, or see what salary sacrifice saves on your tax band.